Recreation & Parks Advisory Board


  • 6:30 - 7:45 p.m.      
  • First Wednesday of January, February, April, June, July, September and  November
  • Recreation and Parks Offices
    107 S. Fourth St.
    Denton, MD 21629
Meetings are open to the public unless closed under an applicable exception as stated in the Maryland Open Meetings Act (State Government article, §10-508).

Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


Name Role Type Term Term
Damien Ransome Member East County First 3/16/21  3/15/24
 Eugene W. Broadwater Member North County  Second 1/1/21 12/31/25
Maureen Keogh
Member At Large
1/22/19 12/31/2022
Elizabeth Beale Planning & Codes Ex-Officio N/A N/A N/A
OPEN County Commissioner Ex-Officio N/A N/A N/A
Alouse Jean Member At Large first
Samantha Parker Member East County
Second 1/22/19 12/31/22
Jeffrey Porter
Member South County
1/22/19 12/31/22
Lindsey McCormick Board of Education Ex-Officio N/A N/A N/A
Sue Simmons Secretary Ex-Officio N/A N/A N/A
Harley J. Speir
Member East County
1/1/21 12/31/25
Lisa  Batson Member South County First 11/10/20 12/23/22

Ross Harper
President West County
Second 11/28/17
 Kevin Reichart Member North County second 1/1/21 12/31/25
Member At Large

OPEN Member West


There are 15 voting member:, three ex-officio and twelve appointed. The ex-officio members shall be a County Commissioner of Caroline County, the Chair of the Caroline County Planning Commission, and the President of the Caroline County Board of Education; or a representative designated by the entity represented. The appointed members shall be appointed by the County Commissioners. Two each of the 12 appointed members shall reside in the northern, eastern, western, and southern portions of the county, respectively. The remaining four members shall be at-large members who may live in any area of the county.  The members shall be chosen to provide background, professional expertise, and personal experience in areas that the advisory board and department staff have identified as necessary to enhance the knowledge base of the advisory board and its ability to carry out its charge..


To assist the Commissioners in maintaining full membership, the Board shall, by majority vote, submit names for nominees for vacancies. Commissioners appoint members.

Term of Office

Terms of office are 4 years. An unlimited number of consecutive terms may be served. Officers shall be elected by and from the appointed membership at the organizational meeting in January to serve for 1 year or until a successor is elected. No officer shall serve more than two consecutive terms in the same office.

Charge / Authority

(Caroline County Government Resolution #2007-001)
The Recreation and Parks Advisory Board shall serve as the official advisory body to the County Commissioner of Caroline County. The Board shall serve as a Liaison between the Director of the County Department of Recreation and Parks and the citizens of Caroline County. The Board shall consult with and advise the Parks Director and the Commissioners in matters pertaining to recreation and parks policies, programs, personnel, and finances, to the acquisition and disposal of lands and properties related to the total community recreation program, and to its long-range, projected program for recreation and parks development.